Week 9- Artist- Joseph DeLappe

Joseph DeLappe is a very intriguing artist. His artwork began in 1993 and revolves mostly around technology, although he does do a lot of cardboard artwork as well. What stood out most to me about his work is that he brings out a lot of the truth in things. For example, he did an artwork that was just like a video game of war but he brought out the standard demographic of a white young male. I think that DeLappe does a good job at bringing out the things that most of us know about but are so normal now that they don’t stand out to us as much.

pasted_image_at_2015_07_23_03_49_pm_360

This work by DeLappe was really interesting to me. I didn’t know about this project until one of our classmates brought it up in discussion. In this project, he asked volunteers to stamp their bills with a tiny MQ1 Predator Drone. The irony in this picture is that the drone is over our the White House.

Overall, I think Joseph DeLappe’s work is really cool and different because of his irony. I love that in art so I think that is why I find his art so amusing. I like how he also brings up a lot of our problems in the world and has a smart, witty way of doing so. DeLappe is truly an amazing artist and I think that he is known for his keen sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

